The 41st Annual Fort Lauderdale to Key West Race, hosted by Lauderdale Yacht Club and the Storm Trysail Club, started at noon on January 11 under perfect conditions (winds from the ENE blowing 15-20 kts) with boats setting Code Zeros and asymmetrics once they approached Rebecca Shoals, the first primary turning point to the WSW toward Key West. The annual race sends sailors on a 160 nm sprint down along the curve of the Florida Keys, to the Key West Sea Buoy, where they make the hard turn onto the final leg up the channel to the finish off Fort Zachary Taylor State Park. The PHRF A class had Gary Weisberg’s J/111 HEAT WAVE from Jubilee YC in Gloucester, MA up against a J/88, M32, Farr 395 and a Class 40. In the end, HEAT WAVE took the silver. For complete event information, visit